Update on green laser


In a previous post, I talked about my high-powered green laser being delayed in Louisville KY.  I finally called UPS today, and inquired about it.   After waiting on hold (for a refreshingly brief time) the  customer service person told me that it was being held by the FDA.  So, we’re waiting for the FDA to decide whether I can have it, I guess.   The FDA has a web page on it’s interpretation of the rules.

Class IIIb laser devices ( 5mW  < n < 500mW ) may not legally be promoted as ‘pointers’ or for ‘entertainment’, or ‘survey, levelling or alignment’ purposes.  All of these must be Class IIIa ( <5mw ).  The FDA may hold this item for several days while it decides whether the documentation and safety articles are in place.

All of this goes to reinforce the point: These are not toys ( YouTube videos notwithstanding ).

One thought on “Update on green laser

  1. HI I HAVE A SOMTING TO ASK YOU I WENT TO NON CUSTOM N THEY DEPART TO WHEREEVER IT SUPPOSE TO GO AND IT ARRIVAL
    WHAT CHA THINK?
    NO PACKAGE
    EXCEPTION? THEY SAID they cant find it and have to reshchule

Leave a Reply

