The Moon and Venus on April 22, 2009


Lots of people are coming here with the search term “bright star next to the moon”.  Well this morning it was Venus (again).  In fact, if you were in the right place at the right time, you saw an occultation of Venus by the moon!  Check out the link below to an article on Universe Today with an absolutely awesome beautiful picture from Ted Judah in Petaluma, California.

The Moon and Venus on April 22, 2009. Credit: Ted Judah | Universe Today.

UPDATE:  More pictures! Look here, and here too!

UPDATE 2: More here!

UPDATE 3: A video of the occultation on  Sky This Week!!!

4 thoughts on “The Moon and Venus on April 22, 2009

  1. Pingback: That bright star next to the moon… « AstroGeek

  2. I am just curious. I feel light headed, dizzy and out of balanced today. Sort of like I am on a boat. I was online trying to figure out why I am feeling this way today. Could this be a result of the moon and venus occurance?

    • No, Venus is too far away from us to have any effect like that. If that were the case you’d feel significantly different every new and full moon. More likely you’re having allergies from all the spring pollen (ah-choo!) like I am.

      • I was hoping it was this astro occurance. I don’t think it is allergies. I hope I don’t have to go see a Doctor. Thank you for your quick reply! Wish me luck that this goes away! 😦

Leave a Reply

