And again…


On Monday I told you about one of my answers on Yahoo! Answers Astronomy & Space being deleted.   Well, it appears that I am indeed the target of a campaign of censorship, because today I received this:

Hello AstroGeek <redacted>

You have posted content to Yahoo! Answers in violation of our Community Guidelines or Terms of Service. As a result, your content has been deleted. Community Guidelines help to keep Yahoo! Answers a safe and useful community, so we appreciate your consideration of its rules.

Question: is the world really going to end in 2012?

Question Details: i heard that from 2 friends.

Deleted Answer: campbelp2002 is right, there is nothing to worry about. My daughter also hears this at school. The “2012 doomsday” is a hoax. It’s a fraud. It’s a con job. It’s a cruel and cynical lie being promoted by unscrupulous pseudo-scientific cranks who have a monetary interest: They want to sell their books, videos, ‘survival kits’, and spaces in non-existent shelters in Antarctica, and to divert attention from the fact that they have been wrong so many times before. It’s also being pushed by people who are promoting a Hollywood disaster movie due out later this year. All of the claims of ‘predictions’ by the Maya, the Aztecs, the Chinese (I Ching), Nostradamus, Sir Isaac Newton, Edgar Cayce, “Mother Shipton” are false: they did not make the claimed predictions. Predictions by others such as José Argüelles, Terrence McKenna, Nancy Leider, Mark Hazelwood and others are contrived pseudo-scientific nonsense. There is no “Planet X” or Nibiru. If someone claims that this object exists, then many regulars in this forum have been asking for the RA/Dec coordinates for it. If they can provide those coordinates and allow independent verification of its existence, then they can collect $5,000 from http://nibiruchallenge.blogspot.com. There will be no ‘pole shift’, either geographic or magnetic. There will be no ‘killer solar flares’. There is no ‘Photon Belt’. These events are fiction. There will be no ‘galactic alignment’ or ‘planetary alignment‘ of any kind, and we will not pass through the central plane of the galaxy, and even if these events were to occur, they would not cause any problems for us. As far as what is *really* going to happen: Olympic games in London Leap Year U.S. Presidential election Transit of Venus on June 6th Disclaimer: Due to the number of “2012” questions on Yahoo! Answers, this is a cut-and-paste answer. Please see my complete (long) opinion in the first link below. After reading that link, if you have additional questions, please leave a comment and I will reply shortly: https://astrogeek.wordpress.com/hoax/ http://365daysofastronomy.org/2009/04/27/april-27th-will-the-world-end-in-2012/ http://www.universetoday.com/2008/05/19/no-doomsday-in-2012/ http://pseudoastro.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/planet-x-and-2012-primer-on-the-mayan-calendar/ http://blogs.discovery.com/cosmic_ray/2009/01/day-of-the-come.html http://www.dailycommonsense.com/2012-explained-why-it-shouldnt-be-feared/ EDIT: Ah, I see thumbkin is back. Where’ya been guy?

Violation Reason:Solicitation

If you feel this content was removed in error, please read the Community Guidelines and make sure that this content: 1. respects the question-answer format and is not chatty or personal communication; 2. does not contain non-relevant links to external sites or other questions and does not promote your own blog or website; 3. is respectful to other people and does not offend other community members. If you still believe this content has been removed in error, please contact Customer Care and tell us why.

Regards,
Yahoo! Customer Care

So, apparently I can answer questions as long as I don’t point people to this site.  Interesting…

What I take from this is that someone really doesn’t like my 2012 hoax page.   The only consolation I can take from this is that A) The answer generated an email to the question asker with my content in it and B) that when I appeal they will ‘lose influence in the community’.

Yippie.

Yes, I have appealed, and no, I haven’t heard anything about my appeal of Monday’s deletion.

6 thoughts on “And again…

  1. And we’re back. My deleted post has been restored.

    In the meantime, I’ve received a lot of support from my fellow contributors on Yahoo! Answers, and I’ve gone on a posting spree. In the last 48 hours I have answered at least 150 “2012” questions.

    I figure that if someone’s goal is to discourage me from posting, that the opposite reaction is in order.

  2. Hey, I wonder if Yahoo’s temporary support of the “solicitation” ruling was because of this sentence: “then they can collect $5,000 from http://nibiruchallenge.blogspot.com.” It _looks_ very similar to some of those stupid ads – “win a laptop” or whatever. That and the number of links are the things I see which would raise flags in my head if I weren’t reading too closely.

    You could perhaps phrase that sentence carefully, so as not to look anything like those silly ads, and reduce the number of links – one of which could list the other links – this might help Yahoo throw out the hoaxers complaints about your posts more readily.

    Just a thought – you don’t want to have this continue to happen so you have to appeal every time, right?

    • Hi Rob;

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, and I appreciate your suggestions.

      As I understand it, the deletions are due to one or more ‘reliable’ Yahoo! Answers users reporting the question. In all likelihood nobody on staff at Yahoo! Answers reviews the deletion until I appeal it. So far all of the “2012” questions that have been deleted have been restored after the first appeal.

      This system is being exploited by one or more people on Yahoo! Answers. I think the goal is to harass me until I stop answering the “2012” questions.

      Many of the regular contributors on Yahoo! Answers Astronomy & Space have been the targets of this kind of harassment, apparently by the same individual. This person thinks that all of the ‘Top Contributors’ in that forum are clones of the #1 contributor, Brant.

      In response to this, I have stepped up my posting frequency, and I’m now actively seeking out “2012” questions, instead of answering just the ones that I happen to notice.

      As far as the cause; I had one post removed for ‘Solicitation’ that contained one paragraph, and a link to my “2012” page. So, it apparently doesn’t matter to this person what I link to or how I say it, he will try to have my posts removed. Every time he does, I will appeal.

  3. Okay, well, it was just a thought. I don’t really know how Yahoo answers works. I’m glad the appeals are working for you!

    • Hi Rob;

      Thanks! I appreciate the suggestions! The only thing I can do in response to this guy is to do exactly the opposite of what he wants. So every time he deletes one of my answers, I’ll appeal it, and I’ll go on to answer more and more.

      Some people have told me I’m a bit obsessed with this, and I suppose I am. On the other hand I’ve had such great feedback from young people on Y!A who were scared witless by the 2012 rumors until they read my page, that I’ve decided to keep going.

      Thanks for stopping by again, and for following up. I appreciate every comment I get.

      Bill.

Leave a Reply

