Scale Model of the Earth and Moon


scale_earth_moonAs well as the scale model of the solar system in my previous post, I will be using a scale model of the Earth and Moon in order to show distances, as well as demonstrate eclipses.   For this model, I used a 1″ wood ball, and a 1/4″ wood ball.  I drilled holes in them, and glued them onto bamboo Shish Kabob skewers.

Then I painted the moon a gray that my wife had in her craft paints, and  also painted the ‘Earth’ to vaguely resemble a globe.  I can’t say that I’m an artist.  If I work really hard, I may someday be good enough to be fired from a sweatshop operation in China.

To use this I’ll be using a pair of spring clamps, and a yardstick (or reasonable approximation thereof).  The proper distance between the Earth and Moon at this scale turns out to be 30 inches.

2 thoughts on “Scale Model of the Earth and Moon

Leave a Reply

